Search the Site

November 24, 2014

CATCH Texas is excited to announce the 2014 winners of our “CATCH Champion” and “CATCH Living Legacy” Awards.

Burnell HeadshotTexas’s 2014 CATCH Living Legacy Award recipient is Karen Burnell, Coordinated School Health Specialist in Dallas ISD. The Living Legacy Award honors a past CATCH Champion and celebrates the legacy they have left in their tireless effort to making a difference in the health of children, families and their school community. The honoree is a leader who has chartered a course of change, created a culture of expectations and inspired countless others. Karen’s work in Dallas has gone above and beyond to make their CATCH program a true part of the school community, and she was named a CATCH champion in 2011, as well.

I spoke with Karen to find out why the CATCH program resonates with her, and how she has come to be such an advocate for the program. “The language of CATCH is so easy,” Karen answered. “Our schools in particular have latched on to MVP language. We created own logo for MVP. We also made checklists for teachers to ensure they’re incorporating all of the elements of coordinated school health. The coordination kits make it seamless. Everyone has a resource, everyone has something to do every 6 weeks.”

We have seven CATCH Champions as well this year. We at CATCH value our champions in Texas so greatly, because without their hard work, the program would not be possible. Champions are striving every day to make child health a priority in their community. They are creative warriors finding new and innovative ways to make health and wellness a part of their school’s foundation. We are so grateful to our 2014 award winners:

  • Fernando Castro, Glen Cove Elementary School, Ysleta ISD
  • Cory Faber, Medrano Middle School, Dallas ISD
  • Gricelda Eufracio, Besteiro Middle School Brownsville ISD
  • Frank Tighe, Canyon Creek Elementary School, Round Rock ISD
  • Scott Powers & Kashif Aleem, Schmalz Elementary School, Katy ISD
  • Kimbo Rushing, Las Colinas Elementary School, Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD